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LOCAL LAW ENFORCEMENT AND STATE AGENCIES LAUNCH 

‘NEXT GENERATION’ SEAT BELT CAMPAIGN    

SACRAMENTO – Ninety cities plus the California Highway Patrol (CHP) are fielding additional law enforcement officers on California’s roadways from November 17 - 30, looking for drivers and passengers not properly buckled up.  Local and state agencies have added a new “Click It or Ticket” campaign to coincide with the Thanksgiving holiday period.  The campaign is supported by $3 million in traffic safety grants awarded by the California Office of Traffic Safety (OTS) through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration.

The Office of Traffic Safety recently released figures that showed the seat belt usage rate in the state had risen to 95.7 percent. “Even with these recent gains, that leaves well over a million Californians exposed to grave danger in the event of a crash,” said Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the Office of Traffic Safety.  “The two seconds it takes to buckle up is the best insurance you can have in a collision.”

Thanksgiving is a time when families are on the road, people are celebrating, and the shopping season begins.  National and state traffic safety officials picked this as the best time to begin the ‘Next Generation’ Click It or Ticket push to get everyone to use seatbelts every trip, every time, day and night.  This new effort builds on the success of the regular lead in to summer, pre-Memorial Day mobilization.

“Law enforcement wants to make sure everyone gets safely home to family and friends,” said California Highway Patrol Commissioner Joe Farrow.  “That’s why we will be out educating motorists and vigorously enforcing the seat belt laws, to prevent these avoidable tragedies.”

In California, 49 percent of those killed in crashes were not properly restrained. The fine for a seat belt violation for vehicle occupants over the age of 16 is $80 to $91, depending on the jurisdiction.  The fine for failing to properly buckle up any child under the age of 16 increases to about $350 per child for a first offense and up to $970 on a second offense. 

Several traffic-related departments within the Business, Transportation and Housing Agency are working together to promote "Click It or Ticket."  In addition to the OTS and CHP efforts, changeable message signs operated by the California Department of Transportation (Caltrans) will carry "Click It or Ticket" messaging during much the campaign, as will LED screens in various field offices operated by the Department of Motor Vehicles. 

For a list of participating law enforcement agencies, visit www.ots.ca.gov.
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