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PARENTS URGED TO FOLLOW ‘4 STEPS FOR KIDS’
AND HAVE CAR SEATS CHECKED FOR PROPER USE
Free Safety Seat Checks Available During Child Passenger Safety Week, Sept. 12-18
SACRAMENTO, CA – California’s top traffic safety officials urge parents and caregivers across the state to maximize child passenger safety by following the 4 Steps for Kids guidelines to determine which restraint system is best suited to protect children based on age and size.
“Parents need to make sure they’re using the right seat for the right child in the right vehicle,” 

said Christopher J. Murphy, Director of the California Office of Traffic Safety. “The 4 Steps for Kids campaign helps simplify the information so that parents know when to graduate from rear-facing, to forward-facing, to booster and then to a seat belt.” 
A series of free child safety seat checks will be held statewide as part of Child Passenger Safety Week September 12-18.  The week-long observance will kickoff with Seat Check Saturday on September 12.

“Keeping children properly restrained on each and every trip will provide the best possible protection in the event of a crash,” said California Highway Patrol Commissioner Joe Farrow.

“I strongly encourage parents to take the time to make sure their seat is being used correctly by visiting a safety seat check event.  It could mean the difference between life and death.” 

California law requires that children be properly secured in the back seat in a child restraint system until they are at least six years old or 60 lbs.*  Additionally, children who are at least six years old or weigh at least 60 pounds and are under age 16 must be properly secured in either a child restraint system or seat belt.  On a first offense, a child passenger violation will cost $445 with penalty assessments.  A second or subsequent offense carries a total cost of $1,025.  If the parent is not in the car, the driver gets the ticket.

(more)

Page 2 of 2 – CHILD PASSENGER SAFETY
Estimates from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration (NHTSA) indicate that 33 children age four and under would have been saved in 2008 in California had they been properly restrained in a child safety seat.  California’s 2008 child safety seat use rate was 94.4 percent, an all-time high.  

In the upcoming year, the California Office of Traffic Safety has allocated nearly $3 million in grants statewide for child safety seat check ups, public awareness presentations and campaigns, providing NHTSA Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician training, distributing low cost or no cost child safety seats to low income families, and related child safety programs.
Parents and caregivers are encouraged to find a child safety seat check event in their area by visiting one of the following Web sites, by calling their local police or fire department for information, or by visiting the OTS Web site at www.ots.ca.gov.
California Highway Patrol – Seat checks are carried out at every local CHP office.  Contact your local office for dates, locations and details.  Click “Office Locator” at www.chp.ca.gov
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration

Click “Locate a Child Seat Fitting Station” at www.nhtsa.dot.gov
California Safe Kids

http://www.safekidsweb.org/events/events.asp
*NHTSA recommends all children 12 and under ride in the back seat.
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